What are the State Requirements in Salt Lake City?
- Utah is a no-fault state, which means each party pays for their own damages for most minor accidents, regardless of who is responsible. However, you are required to carry auto liability coverage in case of a situation where you must pay for the other party’s damages.
- The minimum amount required for your insurance policy in Utah is $25,000 per person for bodily injury or $65,000 per accident.
- You must also carry property damage insurance of at least $15,000 per accident.
- You also need personal injury protection of $3,000 per person.
Coverage and RatesWhile the minimum amounts of auto liability coverage are required by state law, you can purchase more coverage. In fact, you may find it valuable to carry a policy with more coverage. Your rates for coverage will depend on many factors, including the following:
- Vehicle make and model
- Your driving record
- Your age
- Where you live
Even your occupation could impact how much you pay for liability coverage.
You can find a policy that fits your budget. You may qualify for discounts such as multi-car discount or homeowner’s discount. While most auto insurance providers will tell you what discounts they offer, you can always ask about specific options.
You will need to keep a copy of your insurance ID card with you or in the vehicle you drive in case you are stopped by the police or in an accident. It’s important to report an accident as soon as possible so your insurance provider can get to work for you right away.
It is an essential part of driving to have Auto liability coverage. Salt Lake City Insurance will make sure you have the protection you need to protect youself and your family.